Week 2 Review of The Purely Paleo Skincare Challenge Plus Added Bonus – Weight Loss!

Well I had hoped to show you some photos this week of my skin which is HUGELY improved since I first started the challenge but haven’t had a chance to get my friend to take any  and selfie’s just won’t do it justice! As a recap for those who aren’t familiar with what is happening this month I have ditched the hideously expensive store bought cleansers, toners etc etc in favour of the back to basics approach by Liz Wolf of Cave Girl Eats who has recently released a new book Purely Paleo Skincare. There are several tiers to this approach from using basic store bought ingredients to buying ready mixed aromatherapy type based products (which I will be reviewing soon!). I started with the initial basic approach of my good friends coconut oil, witch hazel and rose hip oil – all source easily and cheaply from my nearest chemist and health food store. So onto results…..

I continue to be super happy with how my skin is improving – the redness and scarring from the previous blind pimples are diminished and the coconut and rosehip oil have made my skin softer than it has ever been. Again no new breakouts hooray! Which was suprising as I had a few meals out this week which weren’t 100% Paleo but were acceptable. I am continuing with my evening primrose oil and cod liver oil tablets everyday. I have also found my favourite way to take my Brewer’s Yeast everyday is in a cup of bone broth – this is super yummy and a great breakfast on the go!

IMG_4786

The only changes made this week will be that I will be forcing myself to go to bed EARLY! This is extremely important in the Primal/Paleo lifestyle and quality sleep is essential to wellbeing. Although it is difficult to achieve quality sleep with small children in the house I will be in bed by 8.30 -9.00 pm each night. I have often read that the sleep you get before midnight is the most restful, with some quoting than 1 hour sleep before midnight is equal to 2 hours! I do recall on the odd occasion I am in bed early and woken by the kids at 1 or 2 am I do feel like I have had a full nights sleep! Why haven’t I done this earlier in the Challenge you ask? Well I have had visitors and it is a tad rude to skive off early in the evening!

IMG_4405

IMG_4850

It seems my 2 pooches have no trouble with sleep!

The only other change is adding Borage Oil as my moisturiser rather than Rosehip Oil (or maybe alternating). After doing some more reading in Liz’s guide she recommends Borage Oil for those skin prone to redness, eczema, psoriasis, rosacea or acne. I have had rosacea in the past and still have a lot of redness in the chin area from scarring so I will be interested to see how the Borage Oil helps. None of the health food stores I went to carried it in liquid form but I am waiting for some to arrive in the mail from a Melbourne based business called Health & Happiness.

The Borage plant

Well that is about all for this weeks update. The only other thing to mention is that by returning to my strict Paleo diet I have lost 2 kg (almost 4.5 pounds for my US friends) in the last 2 weeks, this is without any form of exercise other than a Reformer Pilates class! I just want to say now that I do not follow the Paleo Diet as a weight loss tool but it is amazing to see the kilos drop off once you lose dairy, sugar and grains from your diet. I really don’t need to lose any weight, there is not much of me as I stand only 5 feet 2 inches! but I am happy with this little loss as I have really been unable to exercise since I had both my feet operated on last October for bunions so it has taken a bit of the tightness out of some of my clothes!

I did mean also to post another weeks worth of Paleo meal planning today but I am writing a guest article for another site so as soon as that gets done I will put one up.

Cheers,

Linda

PS. if you are looking to get your hands on a copy of Liz’s guide hang in there as I will be giving away a copy soon!

