Week 1 Update of Purely Paleo Skincare Challenge

Today wraps up my first week on the Purely Paleo Skincare Challenge, a Paleo Diet skincare regime called the Skintervention Guide by Liz Wolf from Cave Girl Eats. Well, I am completely wrapped with the results so far. My skin is looking better than it has in months, it is soft and supple and I have had no breakouts or blind pimples whatsoever! I am so happy!

So I thought I would give you a bit of an insight into what I have been doing following Liz’s guide. The main focus of this week has been diet and eating what Liz calls Super Foods. I have been following a strict Paleo Diet, my only weak moment during the week was a celebratory Gin and Tonic for my son’s 3rd birthday – but at least it wasn’t a sugar loaded drink! So I am really happy with my eating for the rest of the week.

There are several Super Foods that Liz lists that should be incorporated into the daily diet, these are the ones I have added so far:

1. Blue Ice Cod Liver Oil Blend – this delivers a concentrated source of skin healing nutrients and can help with psoriasis, acne and premature ageing. This is the only brand of Cod Liver Oil that Liz recommends and I managed to get this through GAPS Australia.

IMG_4792

2. Home made bone broth – super easy to make, I just throw my ingredients in my slow cooker and cook on low for 24 hours. It is a great nutrient dose, heals the digestive tract and is full of gelatin and glycine, proteins that heal the skin. I will put my bone broth recipe at the end of this post.

3. Sauerkraut – full of sulphur – a great nutrient for the skin.

4. Lewis Labs Brewer’s Yeast – full of great nutrients for the body and skin I ordered mine through Vitamin Grocer Australia.

IMG_4786

Brewer’s yeast – I take it in a cup of bone broth

In addition to this I have also been taking Evening Primrose Oil tablets, which are great for women in general, which reduces PMS symptoms etc. I have also been drinking Dandelion tea as most of my breakouts occur in the chin area which correlates to hormonal issues. For hormonally driven acne it is best to support liver function so Dandelion tea is the perfect tonic for this.

As for a skin care itself I have taken Liz’s advice and gone back to basics. Gone are my expensive store bought cleansers, toners, masks and moisturisers. My skin care regime now includes cleansing with coconut oil using a basic oil cleansing method (OCM), toning with witchazel, or sometimes a mix of water and apple cider vinegar if I have exfoliated using bi carbonate of soda, and finishing up by moisturising with rosehip oil. Total outlay for these products 40-50! And they are working fantastically!

IMG_4793

My skin care essentials Coconut Oil ($19.95), Witchazel toner (approx $5) and Organic Rosehip Oil from Endota Spa ($23)

So all in all I am super pleased with my progress so far. I can’t wait to see how good my skin will look by the end of the month. I will keep posting weekly updates along with my menu plan for each week.

Cheers,

Linda

Bonus….Bone Broth Recipe 

Ingredients:

  • Bones – depending on what kind of broth you would like to make you can choose from beef bones, a chicken cage, etc
  • a carrot cut into pieces,
  • 1-2 sticks of celery cut into pieces,
  • an onion cut in quarters,
  • a bay leaf,
  • 2 tablespoons of Apple Cider Vinegar (make sure it is one that contains the ‘mother’ of vinegar – the stringy cloudy bit in the bottom of the bottle) – this helps to leach the minerals from the bones more effectively.
  • optional – a few cloves of garlic or ginger
  • water

Place ingredients in to slow cooker dish and cover with water – cook on low for 24 hours (minimum) – you may cook for longer if you like!

IMG_4564

Comments

  1. Excellent overview! I am planning to get the book too. Thanks for posting links to where you purchased the items too 🙂

    • niftylinda says:

      Hi Yvette, don’t get the book just yet and I will be doing a giving away of it in the next couple of weeks!! No problem re links 😀

  2. If you’re taking EPO for the GLA, you might look into borage oil. Much higher concentration, can attest it dramatically improved my PMS, unfortunately not my skin.

    • niftylinda says:

      Thanks Jen, 😦 re skin. Yes Liz does mention borage oil in her book and I will be looking into where I can source it online as none of the health food shops where I live have it in stock. Where do you source yours?

