Paleo Liar Snack Bars – Using Thermomix

I LOVE Nom Nom Paleo‘s Liar Bars. I have made them twice now and they are one of my favourite sweet treats….a little indulgence every now and then. These are apparently a Paleo take on a popular US snack bar that we don’t get here in Australia but regardless of what they are they are super and yum and super easy to make.

The recipes uses a conventional food processor but I used my Thermomix instead so this is for those with a Thermie. For those who don’t have a Thermomix just food process to the specified consistencies and you will be fine 😀

Ingredients (I doubled the original recipe)

  • 1 cup of coconut flakes
  • 10 Medjool dates
  • 6 tablespoons of macadamia nuts

Method

  • Preheat oven to 180 deg. When hot place macadamia nuts on a piece of baking paper on a tray and place in oven for 10 minutes – turning at 5 minute mark to toast nuts.
  • Remove and let cool
  • On another piece of baking paper sprinkle out the coconut flakes and toast for 3 mins – this might take longer in some ovens but be careful doesn’t take much to burn the flakes! Once done let cool
  • Place cooled macadamia in the Thermomix and blend for about 5 sec on Speed 5 – the pic below is the consistency you are after – put in a bowl and sit aside.

IMG_4300

  • Remove the pits of the dates and place in Thermomix – blend on Speed 5 for 5-7 secs till almost a paste forms

IMG_4301

  • Add coconut flakes to dates and pulse on Turbo 2-3 times

IMG_4302

  • Add macadamias and mix on the Knead setting for 5-10 secs until just combined.
  • Remove mixture and shape into a ball and place on baking paper

IMG_4304

  • Place another piece of baking paper over the top of ball and roll out with a rolling pin until desired thickness is achieved, mine was about 1cm thick
IMG_4306

My favourite pic as it features my grandmothers rolling pin – gotta get my vintage fix in somewhere!

  • Shape into a rectangle and cut into desired shape. You can do bars or bite size pieces. I tend to do bite size pieces so I don’t eat as much!

IMG_4308

The first two times I made this I didn’t have any Medjool dates so I used plain pitted dates and I found I had to put more macadamia nuts into the mix because the normal dates are not as juicy as Medjool dates. But it will taste great regardless of what kind you use.

Well that’s it. Easy as that…enjoy 😀
Linda

Comments

  1. Thanks Linda, Looking forward to trying. I like the choc idea, so may try rolling them into balls and carob powder. 🙂

  2. Amanda Green says:

    I bet u could experiment with other nuts as well, walnuts or pecans, tomorrow I am going try cause I have a whole bag of walnuts in the c’board and Lee refuses to eat them. Could you also roll the mix into small balls Linda and coat them in melted chocolate just to be extra naughty – not paleo i’m sure but yummy, I will let u know if my walnut version is yummy or even works, the oil from the mac nut might be key, but walnuts are a oily nut too 🙂

    • Yes I agree the oily nuts is the key but it may work just as well if you increase the amount of dates as they are very moist…..
      Yes choc sounds good – but the purer paleo friendly kind 😀

