Review of Craftsy Online Class “The Couture Dress”

I had always known of couture  and couture designers but I confess I really didn’t know what it meant. I recently purchased two books off Amazon that got me interested in couture techniques, the first was Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing by Gretchen Hirsch  and the second was Couture Sewing Techniques by Claire B. Shaeffer . I will be honest I don’t have time to sit and sew bound button holes or hand baste raw fabric edges but the techniques and the reasons behind couture garment design and construction and really brilliant to know.

I love the Craftsy website and had seen The Couture Dress online class with Susan Khalje but initially I didn’t think it was for me. After reading a number of reviews that highly recommended the course, plus there being a excellent sale on courses I decided to give it a go.

Well I wasn’t disappointed. The course is certainly long and involved following the couture dressmaking process from preparing a muslin, fitting and alteration of the muslin, using the muslin as a pattern for your fashion fabric and garment lining. However, the insight  into form and function, the hows and whys a garment to put together in such a way was priceless. Susan’s classes were peppered with great tips from years of experience and I have already started using some of the couture techniques in non-couture projects.

Some of the things included in the course are:

  • constructing a muslin
  • adjusting fit
  • underlining
  • hand-picked zippers
  • perfect hems
  • working with bias material
  • matching plaids and patterns
  • garment and pattern alteration
  • a range of hand sewing techniques
  • setting sleeves and more

The course also includes a copy of the Vogue Easy Options Miss’s Dress posted out to you in your selected size.

To take a look at a video snippet of what the course entails click here.

So if you have the time or the inclination you wont be disappointed !

Linda

