A Lesson In Self Restraint – A Visit To L’Uccello Vintage Haberdashery Store

Well today was a real test for me….that is in the fabric department!

Earlier in the week I managed to survive a trip to Spotlight, the first since my self imposed twelve month ban on fabric purchases, walking away with only some curtain backing a darning needle and a some fabric stabiliser.

I decided the ultimate challenge would be to go to not only Tessuti Fabrics but L’Uccello Vintage Haberdashery , whose blog I’d been drooling over for nearly 12 months but had yet managed to make it to their shop.

Well, I was not disappointed by L’Uccello Vintage Haberdashery….vintage French spools of cotton twine and silk thread, vintage buttons galore, Parisian inspired home wares, the list goes on…. It was absolutely beautiful and there was also a gorgeous range of Liberty of London and Moda fabric.

Beautiful vintage buttons!

Fortunately for my bank balance I was on my best behaviour and managed to get out the door with only two sets of vintage buttons and some bias tape for projects I am currently working on.

My lovely purchases

The bonus for me also was the store was right above one of my favourite vintage/retro stores Retrostar who have a huge range of mens and womens vintage clothing and accessories.

Just some of the collection at Retrostar!

So if you are in Melbourne city be sure to check out L’Uccello Vinatge Haberdashery – you wont be disappointed. For those who can’t make the trek keep an eye on their blog as they will be opening an online soon in the near future.

L’uccello is in room 5 on
the second floor, enter via
Cathedral Arcade 

near the corner of Swanston St
& Flinders Lane.
ph: 9639 0088

Linda

Comments

  1. I thought of you at Lincraft yesterday as I bought ONE WHOLE METRE of white muslin. Not nearly as exciting as your retro adventure, but fabric none-the-less.

  2. Great Job Linda xx

