Bunion Operations = Sewing, Sewing and More Sewing!

Four weeks ago today I had both feet operated on. I was cursed with the hereditary condition of bunions – those horrid bony bumpy bits on the inside of your feet at the big toe.

Bunion – not mine!!

Not only do they look horrible but they are terribly painful and finding shoes to fit becomes a monumental task. I had been importing my shoes from the US as they were a wider fit.

My left foot had been giving me pain for over 10 years but my right foot was on the way to causing me serious grief so I decided to have booth feet fixed at the same time.

My pre-op xray of my left foot

To have both done at the same time was a huge undertaking, especially as I have a 2 and a 5 year old. However with some brilliant help from my husband and some extremely generous friends it went really smoothly.

Left foot during operation

Right foot during operation

The operation is not pleasant  – for anyone wanting to watch an animation of how they repair bunions click here.

For  3 weeks I was bed/couch bound which was both frustrating and kind of nice not to HAVE to do anything. I read books, watched episodes of Mad Men, Rake, and Jack Irish, knitted etc. Fortunately for me I have a sewing machine that you can operate without a foot pedal so for the last week  have been perched at the kitchen table with my feet on a chair and cushions sewing my little heart out. The result has been in a week I made 2 blouses, a skirt, and 2 circle skirts for my daughter as well as doing a dress alteration for a friend of mine. I will post pictures of these projects shortly and I will be doing a sew along photo tutorial of how to make a circle skirt in the next couple of weeks.

Well, I must go and put my feet up and get sewing (again 😉 ).

Linda

 

Comments

  1. Irene Catherine Mangham says:

    Phew! Bunions and op sounds awful. Good on you for still being productive and putting your sewing skills to good use, despite the inconvenience. Great that you had such good support for u and your little family too 🙂 Take care.

    Sent by iRene from my iPhone 🙂

  2. It’s a shame you had to go so much just to put your feet up
    Hope they ‘heel’ quickly

