Gluten-free, Grain-free, Dairy-free Paleo Bread – Recipe Review

I LOVE bread – but unfortunately it doesn’t love me. My mother had Coeliac disease and I am gluten intolerant. Being on the Paleo diet this means that you are also grain-free so that means that you don’t eat any of pre-made store bought or home made gluten-free breads.

My lovely friend Jess forwarded me this Paleo bread recipe from the Against All Grain website the other day and I thought I would give it a go to see what it was like.

This recipe calls for cashew butter, coconut flour, eggs, almond milk, bi-carbonate of soda, honey, salt and apple cider vinegar. I decided to adapt the recipe so I could make it in my Thermomix which worked really well.

This is a picture of how mine turned out…

What I liked about this bread:

  • it was pretty easy to adapt the recipe to Thermomix and this means that you didn’t need to wash lots of mixing bowls – the recipe calls for beaten egg whites and mixing things separately in different steps.
  • it had a lovely light, almost sponge texture – the egg whites meant that the loaf over all hardly weighed anything
  • the taste was good, a little nutty and a little sweet
  • it toasted well and stayed fresh for about 3 days

What I didn’t like:

There was nothing I really disliked about this recipe. The ingredients were easily obtained from the local health food store, but as expected the cashew butter and the coconut flour were pricey.

Would I make it again?

I would happily make this again, it would not be something that I made regularly as a substitute for “normal” bread but rather as a treat or for a change. I have decided that nothing will ever really replace “normal” bread so I would rather live without it than settle for something to replace it.

All in all, this is a good recipe and from what I have seen from the rest of the site they have some other great recipes that I will be giving a go.

For the full recipe click here and if you would like the Thermomix adaption of this recipe just leave a comment and I will post it.

Cheers,

Linda

Comments

  1. I tried a slice of this bread and it was lovely. Didn’t taste coconutty at all. I too would love the thermy recipe, just to have another recipe to pull out if and when needed.

  2. courtney says:

    Yes please!! Thermomix version!

