Sewing for Sanity – Maternity Dress and Retro Jeans

Well I have been busy this week trying to make some maternity clothes and finish them BEFORE the baby is born!! AND do some repairs and hemming on some purchases I made recently.

I decided to make the Turn Around The Room Dress by Miriam of Mad Mim….

I had bought some light weight knit from my favourite fabric shop here in Melbourne, the fabulous GJ’s Discount Fabrics in Carlton but I needed to make the pattern bigger than the downloadable PDF. So using a seam gauge I added 3 inches to the pattern to make it a XL size and using some knit fabric I found at Savers (about 3 metres for $5!) I made a trial dress first to check the fit before cutting out the more “expensive” material. I have just about finished – just need to hem – I don’t have a “pregnant” dressmakers dummy – but I hope you can get the idea…(PS ignore the previous project underneath the dress – too lazy to remove it!!)

So now I can get to work on the “real” dress usually a lovely marle coloured material!

The project for the cloudy day here in Melbourne is my new pair of Bernie Dexter Dungarees – these were sold out in Australia in my size so I had to get them from her online store. I LOVE them….

I am now debating whether to hem them or turn them up…I am thinking turn ups to keep with the retro feel of the jeans…..
This is me modelling them this morning…..

 

 

So if anyone has any opinions – would love a little help with the decision!!

Linda

 

Comments

  1. Wow well done you!

  2. Turn ups… ALL THE WAY!

