This Weeks “Sew for Sanity” Project/s

Well, this weeks plan was to finish some projects that I had started for myself so I can get around to sewing maternity clothes for a friend.

The last month or so I have set my sewing table up in front of the TV and watched episodes of “Mad Men” or “The Big Bang Theory” whilst trying to sew. Although this sounds perfect I found myself having to unpick things and making silly mistakes because I wasn’t paying attention. So the last couple of nights I have sat down with a glass of red wine and some chill out music and really enjoyed just concentrating on the task at hand.

So first cab off the rank was some high waisted 40’s style stretch jeans that I purchased online from Miskonduct Klothing.

Usually because I am so short I ALWAYS need to hem jeans or pants but in this instance I also had to adjust the waist also. Being short waisted meant that high waisted pants leave me looking like Steve Urkel from the sitcom “Family Matters”…

So this required me unpicking the waist band and the zipper, making the waist band thinner, reattaching it and then re inserting the zip!

I haven’t taken a proper photo as yet but this was how they ended up looking on…

The other piece to finish was a retro dress. My gorgeous friend Jess had made a dress using this pattern and as soon as I saw it I had to make it.

So I am almost finished – just adding the last of the bias binding – but am tossing up instead using 3 press studs for the front closure whether to make it a tie front. I have sewn the bias on but not finished it yet so still tossing up what to do!

So once I make up my mind ( I would love anyone’s feedback !!) about what to do with this dress it is on to the next sanity saving project.

Linda

Comments

  1. Very lovely print. Gingham gives duch a great summer feel.
    I’ve made that dress a few times both for everyday and for more festive event – alway with the same problem. One or two of the snaps always seems to unsnat during wear. Annoying – so I ended up adding frog snaps to the outsideof the front. I’ve plans to make the dress again (as the others have gotten too big) – this time I think I’ll go all in and extend the front to make buttons and buttonholes.
    So maybe snaps and also a tie – the waist bow is sweet.

    • Thanks so much for your comments and feedback. You will have to send me a picture of the next dress you make using this pattern – would love to see it 🙂

      • You’re very welcome – and sure I will :-). I always love to follow other people project – there is so much inspiration to find.

  2. On behalf of Helen:
    “Oh my gosh! I have that dress pattern also!! Haven’t made it yet, however I LOVE the tie option better than the buttons… I will definitely have to do that. It’s so good to see the ‘actual real-life’ dress too. PS: hot pants! Well done!”

  3. that is a beautiful dress, Linda, I wish I had your talent. Baking is my saviour. I do love that dress tho. Well done. Hugs!

