Chickpea and Chorizo Stew

I made this recipe for my mother’s group yesterday and an extra batch for another friend of mine. It is super easy, SUPER yum and was a hit with everyone. Just what we needed on a cold, rainy day.

This is from the Thermomix app I downloaded Robogourmet – although it doesn’t have pictures and is not the most beautiful app I have ever seen, the recipes that I have made from it so far have been great.

Ingredients

  • 1 onion (quartered)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 red capsicum
  • 1 tbspn olive oil
  • 2 chorizo – diced
  • 200 gms of sweet potato diced
  • 1/2 tspn of sweet paprika
  • 1/4 cup of dry white wine
  • 1/2 cup of chicken stock
  • 400 g can of chickpeas

 

Preparation

  • Place onion, garlic & capsicum in the Thermomix and chop on speed 5 for 5 secs
  • Add oil and chorizo and sauté at 100 C for  3 mins on reverse speed 1
  • Add sweet potato, paprika, wine, stock and cook for 10 mins on 100C on reverse speed soft.
  • Add chick peas and cook for a further minute at 100 C on reverse speed soft (I also add a few chopped mushrooms at this stage too just because I love them!).
  • Once sweet potato is tender you are ready to serve. Top with chopped coriander or parsley. This is great with a side of quinoa.
Linda

Comments

  1. I forwarded this recipe to a friend who has a thermomix. She raved how nice it was so I cooked it last night without one. It was incredibly simple to make and tasted amazing. I have a 2 1/2 year old and did the chopping and stove top part while she was having a nap them got it ready to go in the oven so I didn’t have to worry about cooking when she woke up.

  2. for those without a Thermomix….

    1. Just chop garlic, onion, capsicum and sauté with the Chorizo in an oven proof pot/saucepan.
    2. Add all remaining ingredient except the chickpeas and place in a slow oven (about 170 deg C) and cook until the sweet potato is tender 30-45 mins.
    3. Add chick peas and cook for a further 10 mins & then serve.
    Alternately you could put this in the slow cooker after step on and cook on low until sweet potato is tender.

