A Little of My Post Natal Depression Story and PND Help Lines

I am sorry to post twice in one day but I really wanted to get this information out there.

I have been a sufferer of PND for the last 5 years. I was diagnosed when my daughter was 2 months old and although I sought treatment and under my GPs direction started taking antidepressants (ADs) I never looked into any resources to help me through my PND as I wrongly believed that if I just took the ADs I would magically become better.

Unfortunately, this was a huge mistake. It wasn’t until after the birth of my son, three years later, that I was put under the care of a pyschiatrist and it was discovered that the GP had put me on the wrong AD and given me the wrong dose. So for the 3 years previous to this I had gone along thinking that I was not cut out to be a mother, I did not enjoy my daughter. I did not enjoy motherhood. It was such a revelation and a relief to find that I had in fact been unwell the whole time.

So given a script for the RIGHT AD and the RIGHT dose I set forth again into the journey of motherhood and what a change. My anxiety waned, I gradually started enjoying my children, my interactions with them were different and my ability to hold off frustration increased. It wasn’t perfect but it was a damn sight better that what it had been.

But the best thing that came from all this is I was given the missing key to my recovery. Yes, ADs are great BUT they DO NOT CURE your depression/anxiety. They only allow you the space to deal with your issues – they are a bandaid not the cure. The real cure comes from developing coping mechanisms and strategies to deal with the challenges that are presented to you.

Under the guidance of my psychiatrist I took part in a Mindfulness for Mothers course which used meditation to help deal with the challenges of motherhood and I also enrolled in a meditation course at a Buddhist school. Over time I managed to become more calm and was able to quell my frustration. I am a person that thrives on organisation and had to read every baby book I could get my hands on so as to “do it right”. Suddenly this no longer mattered. I threw away the books and learnt to go with the flow a bit more. Above all I tried to find positive things that I enjoyed in my day and tried to focus on these.

Unfortunately for a number of my friends PND has pushed them to brink, teetering on the edge, without hope and lacking the will to go on. This is where help lines are invaluable and I thought I would share some with you.

PANDA (Post & Ante Natal Depression Association)

Manned by volunteers, most of whom have been sufferers of PND at some time, this is an amazing organisation.

Phone: 1300 726 306

Hours: 9am-7pm  Mon – Fri (AEST)

http://www.panda.org.au/

BEYOND BLUE

beyondblue info line

Provides information on depression, anxiety and related disorders, available treatments and relevant referrals.

  • Phone : 1300 22 4636 (24 hours a day)
  • Email:  infoline@beyondblue.org.au

http://www.beyondblue.org.au/index.aspx?link_id=94

LIFELINE

Anyone can call Lifeline. Provides support from volunteers on the following

  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Loneliness
  • Abuse and trauma
  • Physical or mental wellbeing
  • Suicidal thoughts or attempts
  • Stresses from work, family or society
  • Information for friends and family

Phone: 13 11 14 (24hrs a day)

http://www.lifeline.org.au/

So if you or someone you know is struggling be sure to ring any one of these help lines as it might just save the life of someone you care about.

Linda

