My Paleo Breakfast

I can hear you saying “What the hell is Paleo?” well the Paleolithic Diet (Diet – I hate that word – it is more a way of eating than a strict diet) is based on the presumed diet of our early predecessors. Wikipedia states it is “Centered on commonly available modern foods, the “contemporary” Paleolithic diet consists mainly of fish, grass-fed pasture raised meats, vegetables, fruit, roots and nuts, and excludes grains, legumes, dairy products, salt, refined sugar, and processed oils.” 

I discovered the Paleo diet through my personal trainer, the lovely Linda from  Plus One Mums as well as my reading on Crossfit training which my husband has been engrossed in for the last year or so. The thing that swayed me about this way of eating was it was gluten and lactose free. My mother has coeliac disease and both my sister and I are intolerant to some degree of both these. So I embraced the Paleo way and felt so much better. Within days I was less bloated, had more energy, and over a couple of weeks had lost a kilo or so (although weight loss it not my motivation it was an added bonus!!).

So I thought I would share my Paleo breakfast that I had this morning as a number of my friends said they have been struggling to find gluten-free breakfast options.

Bacon-wrapped Baked Eggs 

I have taken this from a non-Paleo recipe book by Australian comedian Jane Kennedy “Fabulous food, minus the boombah” but it ticks all the boxes.

So turn on your oven and pre-heat 200 degrees C.

Get yourself a ramekin and a rasher of bacon and put the bacon around the inside of the ramekin.

Place in the oven for 5 mins to cook the bacon slightly.

Remove from oven and break egg gently into the centre of the bacon and place back in the oven until the egg sets – this can be anywhere from 5-10 mins depending on how cold your eggs are.

Once set gently remove out of ramekin and serve. I put mine atop some baby spinach and rocket and chop a few fresh chives on top. The chives give it that little bit extra and has enabled me to stop have salt and pepper on eggs.

And there you have it – simple, delicious and nutritious. Served with a strong coffee with coconut milk this is a great start to the day 🙂

Cheers,

Linda

Comments

  1. Sharon Ward says:

    Hi Linda, so funny, I’m finding so many of “us” are at the same stage at the moment. Yep, paleo here too. Loving that recipe! Sending love to you guys too, S x

  2. Had this for breakfast this morning. DELICIOUS! Kids loved it although my (weird) DD left the bacon behind. I’m not normally an egg fan either but I loved it. DEFINITELY another recipe for Sunday morning family breakfast in our house. :o)

