Directional Cleaning – My Plan of Attack

Well today is one of those blissful child free days where after daycare and school drop off I race home to attack the housework list. I read a pin on Pinterest recently that said “Cleaning the house with children around is like shovelling snow in a  snowstorm! SO true!

The way in which approach this is to tackle only ONE room a day. To try and do too much or multi task only sees me running around like a headless chicken achieving half of what I’d hoped and inevitably walking into a room only to find myself asking the question “Now why did I come in here?”.

So once I have established the target I have found the only way I don’t move crap from one place to the other is to use “directional” cleaning….put simply you start at one spot in the room and the move in a clock wise (or anticlockwise if you feel the need!) from that point until you finish back at that point. By doing this I find that all the crap, toys, rubbish, unfolded clothes etc end are moved to the end point in usually a clothes basket for example which them I can pick up and drop into the appropriate places e.g. the bin, child no 2’s room etc.

So for example in the picture below I would start at the end of the bench, which by the way is the dumping ground for everything in my house, mail, bags etc, and then move anticlockwise so all dishes end up in the sink & dishwasher. Any clean dishes are packed away etc so by the time I get to the left of the picture everything should be with put away in a kitchen cupboard or in a basket to rehome or bin.

I hope this helps – it has helped me immensely and stopped me walking around in circles!

