Vintage Love

Along with my love of sewing I have recently discovered how much I LOVE vintage/retro clothing especially clothing from the 1940’s and 1950’s. Of course most clothing you find in vintage stores from these eras are hugely expensive so I have been having fun collecting vintage patterns to make my new ‘old” wardrobe.

The gorgeous Helen from Helen McLean Photography told me to take a look at Etsy for vintage patterns and other bargains and oh my what a selection!

This pattern arrived in the mail today….a vintage 1940’s mail order dress pattern (Barbara Bell 1889)!

I can’t wait to whip it up and give it new life.

The other great place to find vintage patterns is the Vogue pattern site. They have a number of original vintage vogue patterns and quite often they are on sale. These are a few that arrived earlier this week – I ordered them along with some for a friend and we shared postage costs to save money.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have also found some lovely patterns from Circa Vintage Clothings online store, op shops and antique stores.

So little time….so many patterns!

