Nifty Cleaners

Well, I don’t consider myself a “greenie” or overly environmentally conscious although I am now proud to say that all my cosmetics and body care products are organic /“natural” as are the kids. This has been a by product of my tendency towards returning to the “old fashioned” cleaning methods of my grandmother & mother.  After finishing maternity leave after my second child was born and for the first time being a true SAHM and a one income family I started trying to save money on the grocery bills by making and using home made cleaning products. I scoured the hardware stores and supermarkets to figure out where I could by things like Borax and Lectric (washing) soda, stocked the cupboard with vinegar and bi carbonate of soda and got cracking (much to the dismay of my husband!!). I can’t remember  the last time I purchased store bought washing powder, fabric softener or cleaning products and have saved a small fortune in doing so. The great thing is – it is SO easy to do and it is quite rewarding at the same time to save money and realise that it is also better my family. So I thought I would share a few of my core cleaning ingredients, what I use them for and where to get them.

Vinegar – well we all know where to get it! I by mine in bulk from Costco ($5 litres for about $5) Uses – rinse aid for dishes, fabric softener, glass and mirror cleaner, general purpose spay cleaner to name a few.

Bi carbonate of soda– again – you know where to get it. I tend to by McKenzies brand rather than home brand version as I think it is better. Also it does have a use by date so don’t buy too much as it will become inactive if not used before this. Uses – fabric softener, odour neutraliser, bleach/whitener, ingredient in home made laundry powder, stainless steel cleaner, mild abrasive cleaner……

Borax (sodium borate) – borax is a natural mineral compound and has numerous industrial purposes but can be used around the home. It is safe for use with septic systems. You can purchase it for about $7 from Bunnings, but I have also seen small containers at IGA & Coles but these are more expensive. Uses – natural laundry booster, multipurpose cleaner, fungicide, preservative, insecticide, herbicide, disinfectant……

Lectric Soda (washing soda) – or sodium carbonate is extracted from the ash of many plants and can be made synthetically from table salt. It is a white powder as compared to the Lectric soda crystals that are used for bath soaks etc. Most supermarkets stock this in the laundry aisle. It is also septic system safe. Uses – clothing stain removal, ingredient in home made laundry powder, general purpose cleaner, insecticide…… There are a number of other day to day household ingredients that I use but I hope this might inspire you to look for and try some of these.Uses – clothing stain removal, ingredient in home made laundry powder, general purpose cleaner, insecticide……

There are a number of other day to day household ingredients that I use but I hope this might inspire you to look for and try some of these.

Linda 

